RJD president Lalu Prasad accompanied by Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee chief Ashok Chaudhary announced the tie up of the three parties.
Prasad said as per seat sharing arrangement, Congress would contest on 12 seats, Sharad Pawar's Nationalist Congress Party on one and RJD would contest on rest 27 out of 40 parliamentary seats.
"Congress would contest from Sasaram (SC, Reserved), Kisanganj, Aurangabad, Supual, Hajipur, Purnea, Patna Saheb, Nalanda, Samastipur, Gopalganj, Muzaffarpur and Balmikinagar," the RJD chief said. The NCP will contest Katihar seat.
"The rest 27 seats will have RJD nominees, the two leaders announced at 10 Circular road residence of former chief minister Rabri Devi.
Madhubani, which had become a bone of contention between Congress and RJD and reported to be a major irritant in finalisation of the tie-up has gone to Lalu Prasad's party.

The dominance of RJD in this deal can be gauged with the fact that despite immense pressure Lalu didn’t give Madhubani seat to senior Congress leader Shakeel Ahmed.

Congress leaders like Ahmed, state unit chief Ashok Chowdhury, Legislative Party leader Sadanand Singh and ex-union minister Akhilesh Prasad Singh wanted to contest from Madhubani, Jamui, Bhagalpur and West Champaran Lok Sabha seat respectively.


Latest News from India News Desk