The announcement was made by RJD legislature party leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui here and has come as a boost for the new Cabinet ahead of the trust vote.

Manjhi, who has been nominated by Nitish Kumar after he resigned following the JD (U) debacle in the state in the Lok Sabha polls, has called a Special Session of the Assembly on Friday to seek the trust vote.
"Though our (RJD) support will not decide the survival of the new JD (U) government which already enjoys majority, we decided to extend support as he hails from Mahadalit community," Siddiqui said.
"RJD has been championing the cause of social justice and so we decided to extend our cooperation to the new CM hailing from Mahadalit community," he said.

The support is also to "defeat the communal forces represented by BJP and RSS", Siddiqui said.
RJD's support was, however, only 'for now', he said, adding, "We will decide about our support to him (Manjhi) on the basis of 'gun-dosh' (merit and demerit)."
RJD has 21 members in the Bihar Assembly. JD (U) has 117 members including the Speaker and Opposition BJP has an effective strength of 88. The effective strength of the Bihar Assembly is 237 following resignation of 6 members - 3 from RJD, 2 from BJP and one from JD (U). Chhedi Paswan of JD(U) had given up the Mohania seat and joined BJP before the Lok Sabha polls to contest from the Sasaram  Lok Sabha seat against the then Speaker Meira Kumar, which he won.

Congress with four MLAs, CPI with one and the two Independents have already given their letters of support to Manjhi government.

The 2014 Lok Sabha elections proved to be a huge setback for RJD and JD (U). Showing worst ever performance, both the parties managed to win only four and two seats respectively.

Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) recorded a landslide victory in the general elections. The BJP in alliance with Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RSLP) won 32 seats out of 40 in Bihar, prompting both the regional satraps to come to one platform.

Taking moral responsibility of the poor show of the party in the general elections, Nitish resigned as Bihar Chief Minister. His close aide and party leader Jitan Ram Manjhi was sworn-in as Chief Minister of the state.
RJD's announcement of support to the JD(U) ministry gives rise to speculation of realignment of parties opposed to BJP in Bihar in the wake of the saffron party's electoral success in the recent Parliamentary polls.

Out of the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar, BJP won 22 seats on its own, while its allies LJP won six and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party of Upendra Kushwaha three seats.RJD has bagged four seats, Congress and JD(U) two each and NCP which went with RJD has won one.


Latest News  from Bihar News Desk