Lucknow: A day after being inducted as Civil Aviation Minister, the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) leader Ajit Singh declared the list of 17 candidates.  With an aim to improve the image of RLD as caste oriented party, Singh has ensured that none of the Jat contestants are included in the list.

In order to evade any conflict among the party members and its ally, the RLD has declared to field its candidate for 17 unopposed assembly seats in Poorvanchal and Awadh region. 

The list was announced without final confirmation of seats from the Congress. It was due to this reason RLD has kept few candidates on
Hold, including Anuradha, Anil Chaudhari and Satendra Solanki.

Meanwhile, state RLD president Baba Hardeb Singh will contest from Etamdpur and former irrigation minister Munna Singh Chauhan from Bikapur of Faizabad district as joint candidate from both the RLD and Congress.

Besides, the party has fielded one Brahmin, four Rajputs and three Muslim candidates in order to keep caste equation intact. The new non–Jat faces included in the list are Vasid Ali from Dhaulana and Ashraf Ali from Thana Bhawan.