A similar scenario was witnessed after 2009 general elections as well and a total of 291 members including 29 women entered Parliament for the first time in the 15th Lok Sabha. Out of these 291, 161 members including 25 women had no parliamentary experience.

A number of senior ministers in the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance government have refused to contest the upcoming elections. Apart from that, many key leaders of other parties also expressed their unwillingness to test the political waters in the 2014 general elections.

Therefore, it’s being said that there would be a sizeable number of debutants in the Parliament after polls. In the 2009 elections, only one-third of the total members of 14th Lok Sabha were re-elected.

Several heavyweights like Union Finance Minister P Chidambaram, Union Agriculture Minister and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) chief Sharad Pawar, senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and former finance minister Yashwant Sinha has opted out of the race to Parliament this time around.

Other prominent leaders who are wresting their weight around in the 16th Lok Sabha elections are BJP’s prime ministerial candidate and Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi, ex-Infosys boss and well-known technocrat Nandan Nilekani and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) convenor and former Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal.

However, there are 235 members, who have legislative experience, in 15th Lok Sabha. Besides, 52 members have the experience of Rajya Sabha as well and several members of the Upper House are also trying their luck this time around as well.

It needs to be mentioned that around 12-15 crore voters will exercise their franchisee for the first time in the 2014 general elections and in order to woo them, the parties have fielded several fresh faces as well.


Latest News from India News Desk