When the nominations were taken up for scrutiny, four were found invalid and "it is announced that the nomination of A Navaneethakrishnan is found valid," Assembly Secretary and Presiding Officer for the by-poll AMP Jamaludeen said.

The last date for withdrawing nominations is June 26.

The by-poll for Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu was necessitated after a sitting DMK MP TM Selvaganapathy was disqualified following his conviction in a corruption case.

Navaneethakrishnan, former state Advocate General, had also served as Chairman of Tamil Nadu Public Service Commission.


Latest News from State News Desk