Lucknow: The Uttar Pradesh government has appointed retired IAS officer Satish Kumar Agarwal as the new State Election Commissioner (SEC), official sources said on Wednesday.

A 1974 batch IAS officer, Agarwal was considered close to the SP and had held the post of Principal Secretary Home and PWD departments in the previous Mulayam Singh Yadav regime.

Agarwal will replace Rajendra Bhaunwal, who retired on April 4.

The officer remained under suspension for over two years and was later given an insignificant posting in the Mayawati regime.