JPN: What a turn around this game has witnessed. The Proteas were in control of the match but Jacob Oram swung it for the Kiwis and a dejected Smith and his team will now take the long flight back to home.



NZ won by 49 runs and stormed into the semi-final of the World Cup 2011.

The Kiwis were all over South Africa who lost wickets in heaps to land themselves in trouble. They were eight down with over 80 runs to get.

It happened again with South Africa at the crunch time, they lost their nerves and the match slipper away from them. Once crusing, they literaly gifted away the advantage to the Kiwis. Horrible shot selection, sloppy piece of running between the wickets  made things worse for the Proteas.

Jacob Oram sent back SA skipper Graeme Smith, who was looking in good touch. Smith was furious when he got out.

Early loss of Amla did not dampened the spirits of skipper Graeme Smith, who put on a good partnership with Kallis to avoid early jitters.

Defending a modesy total, the Kiwis had made a solid start as they picked up South Africa's anchor-man Hamish Amla for five.

Proteas restrict Kiwis to 221 for 8

A stoic bowling performance from the Proteas had restricited the Kiwis to 221. Steyn, Morkel and Tahir had a good outing with the ball.

South Africans were back in the game with spinner Imran Tahir doing the trick for his team by picking up set Ross Taylor.

After the loss of two early wickets, Kiwis had mangaed to hit a stable patch with Jesse Ryder and Ross Taylor playing diligently against the Africans.

South Africa are off to a brilliant start as they have picked up another wicket and New Zealand are looking sloppy at the moment.

Graeme Smith started the bowling with Robin Petersen and the left arm tweaker made early impact when he took a stunning catch of his own bowling to remove Brendon McCullum.

New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat first in the third quarter final against the Proteas at Sher-e-Bangla stadium, Mirpur. Daniel Vettori back in the side.

New Zealand team

BB McCullum†, MJ Guptill, JD Ryder, LRPL Taylor, SB Styris, KS Williamson, NL McCullum, DL Vettori*, JDP Oram, TG Southee, LJ Woodcock

South Africa team
GC Smith*, HM Amla, JH Kallis, AB de Villiers†, JP Duminy, F du Plessis, J Botha, RJ Peterson, M Morkel, DW Steyn, Imran Tahir