Lucknow: The Samawadi Party (SP) on Wednesday named Rajpal Tyagi, who was sacked by BSP supremo and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati from the state Cabinet last month, as its candidate from the Muradnagar constituency in Ghaziabad.

Tyagi was named as the party nominee for Muradnagar in place of Dishant Tyagi by state president Akhilesh Yadav, SP spokesman Rajendra Chaudhary said here.

Tyagi, who held charge of Agriculture, Education and Research Minister, was sacked on December 25, 2011, along with three others, including Higher Education Minister Rakeshdhar Tripathi, Minister of State for Backward Welfare Awadhesh Kumar Verma and Minister of State for Home guards Hari Om.

Similarly, Khwaja Haleem has been given ticket for Charra seat in Aligarh district in place of Rakesh Singh, Chaudhary said.