Chandigarh: The SAD-BJP combine on Tuesday appeared set to retain power in Punjab as it won 30 seats and was leading in another 34 seats in the 117-member Assembly.
Congress, which was hoping to wrest power after five years, has managed to win 20 seats so far and was leading in another 30 seats.
Of the total 50 results declared so far, SAD has won 23 and its ally BJP seven, while Congress has bagged 20 seats.
In the trends available for the remaining 67 seats so far, SAD-BJP combine is ahead in 34 seats, with SAD leading in 29 and BJP in five seats, while the Congress is leading in 30 seats and others in three seats.
Manpreet Badal's Punjab People's Party-led Sanjha Morcha failed to make any impact in the polls as it was not in a winning position from any seat.
Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal's estranged cousin Manpreet Badal lost from both Gidderbaha and Maur seats, finishing third in both the seats.
Congress has won the seats of Talwandi Sabo, Amritsar Central, Rajpura, Nabha and Patiala, while the SAD has won Balchaur, Attari, Faridkot and Ghanuar and the BJP Amritsar East.
Former Chief Minister Amarinder Singh retained the Patiala seat defeating Surjit Singh Kohli of the SAD by 42318 votes.
The Chief Minister and his son and Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal have won from Lambi and Jalalbad respectively.