India are the defending champions in the Sultan of Johor Cup to be held in Johor Bahru, Malaysia from October 10-20.

The 27-day camp, which was hanging in uncertainty, will be held for 33 players and 10 officials at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium here.

"Administrative approval of the Competent Authority is hereby accorded to hold the junior men's national coaching camp of 43 campers, comprising 33 junior men's probables and 10 officials (including Indian and foreign coaches and support staff at MDCNC, New Delhi from 13th Sept to 9th Oct, 2014 in preparations for Sultan of Johor Cup and FIH Junior World 2016," the SAI informed Hockey India (HI) through a communication dated September 5.

HI secretary general Narinder Batra, who was critical of the government's nodal agency for not approving the camp, thanked SAI for clearing the deck.

"Thank you for clearing the camp for junior men from 13 September, 2014," Batra said in his reply.

Incidentally, Batra was at loggerheads with SAI officials recently for not approving the colts' camp ahead of the tournament, and also claimed the national federation faces the risk of a hefty financial penalty from the International Hockey Federation if it was forced to withdraw the team from the Sultan of Johor Cup at the last minute.

He said the FIH-sanctioned event was a part of Annual Calendar for Training and Competition (ACTC) approved for this year till the Asian Games.

Besides India, the other participating countries in the tournament are Australia, Great Britain, Pakistan, New Zealand and Malaysia.

Goalkeepers: Vikas Dahiya, Subodh Tirkey, Abhinav Pandey, Jugraj Singh.

Defenders: Abhay Ekka, Jarmanpreet Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Anand Lakra, Gurinder Singh, A P Singh, Baljit Singh, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Dipsan Tirkey, Varun Kumar.

Midfielders: Sumit, Simranjeet Singh, Santa Singh, Prakash Barla, Harjeet Singh, S H Nilkanta Sharma, Imran Khan, Manpreet, Rajat Sharma, Ajay Yadav.

Forwards: Parvinder Singh, Arman Qureshi, Ajit Kumar Pandey, Mohd Nizammuddin, Pawan Kumar, Roshan Kumar, Janma Majhi, Sumit Toppo, Sumit Kumar.

Officials: Roelant Oltmans (High Performance Director), Harendra Singh (coach), B J Kariappa (coach), Sandeep Sangwan (coach), Dr Anirban Malik (Doctor, SAI), Vinod Kumar (physiotherapist, SAI), Anil Kumar K C (Masseur, SAI).

Latest News from Sports News Desk