As the last event of the Mahotsava kickstarted with the lighting of the ceremonial lamp by the Chief Minister, performances of Bollywood actors Saif Ali Khan, Kareena Kapoor, Sonakshi Sinha, Sonam Kapoor, Parineeti Chopra, Neha Sharma, Arjun Kapoor, Ranvir Singh, Shamita Shetty followed.

Stand up comedians Sunil Grover also tickled the ribs of thousands gathered to watch the event.

In the five-hour programme that went past midnight, singer Mika regaled the crowds with his chart busters. Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Mulayam Singh Yadav and many senior cabinet ministers were also present on the occasion.

Opposition parties have been for years accusing the Samajwadi government of splurging on the Mahotsavs with government funds, a charge the party has denied.