However, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav would remain as the party’s state president.

The ruling Samajwadi Party government in Uttar Pradesh could only win five out of the total 80 Lok Sabha seats in the state with party supremo Mulayam Singh winning  from both Mainpuri and Azamgarh.

Under pressure for his party’s awful showing in the general elections, Akhilesh had earlier rejected demands of his resignation on moral grounds and said that the reasons behind the Samajwadi Party’s appalling performance was being reviewed.

Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Kalyan Singh had demanded the resignation of Akhilesh over his party’s poll debacle and had urged him to seek a fresh mandate from the public of Uttar Pradesh.

Faced with one of the worst showing in the Lok Sabha polls, Mayawati had on May 20 also dissolved all the committees of the party.


Latest News from India News Desk