Lucknow: On the charges of poor preparations for the forthcoming assembly elections in 2012, Samajwadi Party (SP) supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav has replaced eight candidates.  

The party has claimed that the decision has been taken on the basis of the work reports of the candidates in their respective constituencies.

The assembly segments where the party has changed its candidates include Purkazi, Barkhera, Puranpur, Karta, Balamau, Maharjpur, Mehnagar and Ajgara.

Narendra Valmiki in Purkazi, Hemraj in Berkhera, Preetam in Puranpur, Anil Verma in Balamau, Arun Tomar in Maharajpur, Brijlal Sonkar in Mehnagar ans Bhaiya Lal in Ajgara have been named as new SP candidates.