Apart from Dikshit, four other leaders - former Union ministers Kapil Sibal and Krishna Tirath, and Yoganand Shastri and Mateen Ahmed -- have been named as the members of the committee headed by Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee president Arvinder Singh.

Congress President Sonia Gandhi had on November 25 approved the Pradesh Election Committee (PEC), Manifesto Committee, Publicity Committee and Disciplinary Committee for the ensuing Assembly elections in Delhi.

Controversial figures and former Congress MPs Jagdish Tytler and Sajjan Kumar did not figure on any of the panels recently set up by the party for polls in Delhi.

Sheila Dikshit and Ajay Maken are members the poll panel which will look after the preparations for the forthcoming Assembly elections.

The fact that the 76-year-old Dikshit, who had recently ruled out the possibility of her contesting elections this time, has been included only in the PEC is being seen as the party limiting her role this time.

Dikshit, whose 15 years in office make her the longest serving Chief Minister of Delhi, was trounced by Aam Aadmi Party's Arvind Kejriwal in the New Delhi constituency in the elections last year.

Latest News from State News Desk