Sejwal finished 12th overall after clocking 1:02.97 seconds in the heat to advance to the next round. A total of 16 swimmers qualified for the semifinal stage of the competition here at the Tollcross Swimming Centre.

Sejwal came fourth in heat number three but 12th overall in a field of 34 swimmers.

Adam Peaty of England topped the qualification round with a timing of 59.47 seconds, while Scotland's Ross Murdoch finished second.

The semifinal round will take place later on Friday night.

However, India failed to make the main round of men's 200m freestyle event, as Sajan Prakash finished a lowly 22nd in the qualification.

Prakash took 1:53.82 seconds to finish the race as opposed to an impressive 1:46.39s set by the Cameron McEvoy of Australia to emerge on top.

Latest News from Sports News Desk