Mumbai: Kateekal Sankaranarayanan was sworn in as the Governor of Maharashtra for a second term on Monday.

At a function held at Darbar Hall of Raj Bhavan, Chief Justice of the Bombay High Court, Justice Mohit Shah, administered the oath of office to Sankaranarayanan.

Chief Secretary Ratnakar Gaikwad read out the Warrant of Appointment of the Governor issued by the President.

Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan, Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar, Chairman of the Maharashtra Legislative Council Shivajirao Deshmukh, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly Dilip Walse Patil, Speaker of the Kerala Legislative Assembly G Karthikeyan, Minister for PWD & Tourism Chhagan Bhujbal and Minister for Protocol Suresh Shetty greeted Sankaranarayanan on being reappointed as Governor for the second consecutive term.

The Governor was presented a ceremonial Guard of Honour by the Navy on this occasion. A 17-gun salute was also given to him at the Naval Coast Battery soon after he arrived on the raised platform to inspect the Guard of Honour.

Born on October 15, 1932 in Kerala, Sankaranarayanan's initiation into politics started early when in 1946 he became a member of the students organisation. From 1957 to 1964 and from 1964 to 1968 he was respectively the General Secretary and President of the District Congress Committee, Palghat.

Between 1968 and 1972, he served as the General Secretary of the undivided Congress. In 1972, he was appointed as President of the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee, a post he held till 1977. Sankaranarayanan also served as the Working Committee Member of the AICC.

Sankaranarayanan was elected to the Kerala Legislative Assembly several times as a candidate of the Indian National Congress. He was elected from Thrithala, Sreekrishnapuram, Ottappalam and Palghat constituencies.

He was appointed Governor of Nagaland on February 3, 2007 and also served as Governor of Jharkhand between July 26, 2009 and January 21, 2010. He was transferred to Maharashtra on January 22, 2010. He also held the additional charge of the post of Governor of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam and Goa.

He thus has the distinction of serving six states as Governor, a release said.
Sankaranarayanan completed his first five-year term on February 2, 2012. By an order dated April 28, 2012, the President granted him a fresh term as Governor of Maharashtra.


Latest News from State News Desk