New Delhi: BJP candidate Sarita Choudhary and BSP nominee Sahi Ram Pehalwan have been elected Mayor and Deputy Mayor of South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) respectively.

Sarita defeated Congress candidate Abhishek Dutt by a margin of 16 votes, while Sahi Ram trounced Praveen Rana by 14 votes.

Sarita got 64 out of a total of 112 votes polled while Abhishek got 48. In 2012, BJP candidate Savita Gupta had been elected to the post of Mayor by securing 66 votes.

In the 104-member House of SDMC, BJP is the single largest party with 44 members. It also enjoys support of BSP (6), INLD (3), JDU (1), besides 14 independents.

Congress’ tally is 29, while NCP has 14 councillors in SDMC. Both the RLD and SP have one member each. Besides 104 councillors, five each MPs and MLAs were eligible to vote in the Mayor poll. Union Minister Ajay Maken and Parliamentary Secretary Mukesh Sharma did not cast their votes.

Congress MPs Parvez Hashmi, Ramesh Kumar, Sandeep Dikshit Mahabal Mishra and minister Arvinder Singh Lovely cast their votes. BJP MLAs HS Balli, Satprakash Rana and VK Malhotra also exercised their franchise in Mayor election.