Sarjubala Shamjetsabam (48kg) and Pavitra (64kg) were the two who advanced to the next level even as Meena Maisnam (54kg) and Pwilao Basumatary (57kg) fell by the wayside.

Sarjubala was the first to take the ring today for India and she gave a prefect start by comprehensively beating Mongolia's Bolortuul Tumurkhyug in the 48kg pre-quarterfinals. The swift-moving tempo-boxer from Manipur rattled Tumurkhyug with the sheer ferocity of her attack in the opening round.

Sarjubala slowed down a bit in the next three rounds but was never lacking in precision while connecting some telling blows on her opponent's face. Besides, the Indian defended herself skillfully from whatever little Tumurkhyug had to throw at her. Expectedly, the judges were unanimous in declaring Sarjubala the winner.

Sarjubala will next take on Indonesia's Aldriani Suguro in the quarterfinals where a win would secure her at least a bronze medal. Next up was Meena Maisnam who squared off against Dina Zholaman, a two-time national champion from Kazakhstan.

In a messy bout in which both the boxers indulged in excessive holding and clinching, it was the Indian who ended up being warned in the third round. Although Meena fought hard to challenge the stronger-built Kazakh, it was not enough in the final analysis and she lost the bout on a split decision.

There was more disappointment in store when Pwilao Basumatary (57kg) went down to Lacramioara Perijoc in her second-round bout. Basumatary proved no match to the energetic Romanian, who displayed impeccable ring-craft to outplay the Indian and emerge a unanimous winner.

However, Pavitra ensured that India ended the day on a positive note by beating Kazakhstan's Zarina Tsoloyeva in the 64kg category pre-quarters. Pavitra, an Asian Championships silver-medallist, rallied brilliantly to beat her imposing rival on a split decision.

The Indian lost the opening round but more than made up for it by clinching the next two and even though Tsoloyeva bounced back to win the final round unanimously, the judges declared Pavitra the winner.

Latest News from Sports News Desk