Chief Justice of India P Sathasivam formed the Supreme Court Gender Sensitisation and Internal Complaints Committee (GSICC) in which there are six other female members.
There are two members who are outsiders and not connected with the Apex Court in any manner.
The panel is in consonance with the guidelines laid down by Apex Court in its judgement in Vishaka case for dealing with complaints of sexual harassment at workplace.
Under the guidelines, it is required that the panel has a majority of female members and two members of civil society nominated by the Chief Justice of India.
"In exercise of power conferred by clause 4(2) of The Gender Sensitisation and Sexual Harassment of Women at the Supreme Court of India (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Regulations, 2013 and all enabling provisions in this behalf, the Chief Justice of India has been pleased to constitute the Supreme Court Gender Sensitisation and Internal Complaints Committee(GSICC)," the office order said.
The committee includes three male members-- Justice Madan B Lokur, sitting Apex Court judge, senior advocate L Nageswara Rao and Prof Dr G Mohan Gopal, Director of Rajiv Gandhi Institute for Contemporary Studies, who is the nominee of the CJI and is an outsider.
The women members are senior advocate Indu Malhotra, advocate Bina Madhavan (representative of Supreme Court Bar Association), B Sunita Rao (representative of Supreme Court advocates-on-record Association), Madhu Chauhan, (representative of Supreme Court Clerks Association) and Bharti Ali (Co-Director, HAQ : Centre for Child Rights, New Delhi) has been appointed as a nominee of the CJI and is an outsider.
Rachna Gupta, Additional Registrar, will be the member Secretary of the committee.
Bharti has been working on issues related to women and children since 1991. She is the founder and Co-Director of HAQ: Centre for Child Rights. She has also been the National Convenor of CACT (the Campaign Against Child Trafficking in India), since its initiation till 2005.
Prof Dr G Mohan Gopal is also a Member of Academic Council, National Judicial Academy India. Member, Judges’ Inquiry Committee appointed by the Chairman, Rajya Sabha (2011).


Latest News from India News Desk