The Supreme Court had commuted death penalty of three prime convicts - Perarivalan, Murugan and Santhan - to life imprisonment.

Following the Apex Court’s judgment, the state government passed a special resolution in the Assembly to release seven people convicted in the case.

However, the Centre then filed a petition before the Supreme Court following which the Apex Court stayed the release of all the seven convicts.

Friday’s verdict will be delivered on the last working day for the outgoing Chief Justice of India P Sathasivam.

Rajiv Gandhi was assassinated at Sriperumpudur near Chennai in Tamil Nadu on May 21, 1991.

Besides Perarivalan, Santhan and Murugan, the other four convicts are Nalini, Robert Pyas, Jayakumar and Ravichandran.


Latest News from India News Desk