Bypoll to Bongaon Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal and Liromoba (Arunachal Pradesh), Panaji (Goa), Srirangam (Tamil Nadu), Krishnaganj (West Bengal), Mukhed (Maharashtra) and Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh) assembly seats will be held on February 13, Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath said on Monday.

He made the announcement along with the schedule for the Delhi Assembly polls. Bypoll to Bongaon Lok Sabha seat was necessitated following the death of sitting TMC MP Kapil Krishna Thakur last year.

The bypoll to Panaji assembly was necessitated after the the then Goa Chief Minister Manokhar Parrikar was shifted to the Centre and made Defence Minister.
The Srirangam assembly seat fell vacant after the then Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa was convicted in a graft case and disqualified as a member of the state assembly.
According to the schedule, notifications for all the bypolls will be issued on January 19 while January 27 will be the last date of filing nominations. Counting for votes for the respective seats will take place on February 16.

Latest News from India News Desk