The closure will be effective in Kathmandu, Lalitpur, Bhaktapur, Makwanpur, Nuwakot, Dhading, Sindhupalchok, Kavre, Gorkha, Lamjung, and Dolakha districts.

Education Ministry spokesperson Hari Lamsal said classes from pre-primary to higher secondary levels will be closed in the districts as the infrastructure need technical assesment,
the Kathmandu Post reported.

The educational institutions were earlier shut for five days following Saturday's massive earthquake that has claimed more than 6,300 lives.

The 7.9-magnitude quake has injured at least 14,000. The UN says more than eight million people have been affected by the quake.

The closure has been extended so that teachers could engage themselves in rescue operations and the security of students could be ensured, Lamsal added.

Latest News from World News Desk