Gwalior: Amidst the ongoing wrangling in state Congress unit, supporters of Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia had the lion’s share in the race for District party presidents. The political clout of Scindia was clearly visible in and around his home town as his close supporters was named as district presidents for Gwalior, Bhind and Morena.

Earlier, his loyalists had already been named as district president for Shivpuri, Guna, Datiya, Sheopur and Ashoknagar.

Scindia’s stronghold over Gwalior-Chambal region can be gauzed with the fact that his loyalist Darshan Singh was appointed as the Gwalior district congress president despite stern opposition from Congress general secretary Digvijay Singh. While supporters of Digvijay tried to use the caste and women factors, Scindia strongly backed Darshan Singh for the post.

Scindia supporter Ramesh Dubey and Rakesh Mabai have been appointed as Bhind and Muraina district president respectively.

Despite the efforts by supporters of Digvijay, a close confidant of Scindia, Yogendra Lumba was named as Guna district Congress president.