Patna: In second phase of panchayat polls in Bihar on Sunday, an estimated 58.8 per cent voters exercised their franchise which witnessed stray incidents of violence in which one person was killed in Madhubani district.

Addressing media persons here, State Election Commissioner J K Dutta said, “Kaimur district, bordering Uttar Pradesh, recorded the highest voters' turn out at 68 per cent, while Nawada district witnessed the lowest turn-out at 44 per cent.”

One person identified as Jageshwar Yadav was killed and four others injured in a clash between rival groups in Chiknotwa village in Madhubani district, Additional Director General of Police (Hq) Rajya Vardhan Sharma said.

In another incident, a policeman was injured after some miscreants pelted stone on a police party at booth number-63 in Nayagaon village in Munger district while making a vain bid at booth capturing, he said, adding the police fired in the air in self-defence and later arrested three miscreants.

Another person was injured at booth number-65 in Dharampur Kharwa village in Patna district in a clash between two groups, Sharma said.

Local people pelted stones on the vehicles of the District Magistrate and the Superintendent of Police of Sheikhpura district at Diman village to protest against
shortage of ballot papers at booth number-75.

A report from Sheohar district some miscreants fired in the air snatched a rifle from a Homeguard at Shankarpur Binhi village but the looted rifle was subsequently recovered.

The security forces arrested 791 people on charges of booth capturing and electoral malpractices, the ADGP said, adding the security forces seized one rifle and 12 round of cartridges and 134 vehicles during their drive against electoral malpractices and booth rigging.

Meanwhile, the second phase of panchayat polls were held for the post 27,905 posts comprising Mukhias (895), gram panchayat members (12372), panchayat samiti members (1271), panchayat kachhari members (12372), gram kachhari sarpanchs (895 and Zila parishad members (122) at 12,559 polling stations spread
over 37 districts.

Repolling on May 20

The State Election Commission (SEC) on Sunday ordered repoll on 126 polling stations spread over 17 districts in Bihar that had gone to polls during the first phase of the panchayat elections on April 20 last.

The repoll will be held on May 20 next, the State Election Commissioner JK Dutta said here.

The panel will review at a later date about the panchayat elections held in the second stage and will take the decision if repolling was required at any polling station due to any reason, he said.