New Delhi: They get their chances only when the Vijender Singhs and Akhil Kumars are given a break or opt out and aiming to make the most of the rare opportunity, seven Indian boxers led by Asian Games silver-medallist V Santhosh Kumar on Friday headed for the 21st President's Cup in Indonesia.

The tournament has not been held for the past seven years, the last edition concluding just a couple of days before the devastating Tsunami hit Indonesia in 2004.

The Indians had fetched a couple of bronze medals in that edition but are looking to strike gold this time.

The tournament will feature 30 countries, including three local teams (Garuda, Elang and Rajawali) and Indian medal hopes would rest mainly on Santhosh (64kg) and South Asian
Games gold-medallist Chhote Lal Yadav (56kg).

"We have traditionally done well in this tournament. We didn’t get a gold in 2004 but hopefully we would get one this time," said accompanying coach Jagdeep Hooda.

The team mainly comprises boxers who are in the shadow of more established names.

In the light-flyweight 49kg division, an 18-year-old Gaurav Bidhuri would aim to make a name for himself in a category which is mostly represented by Commonwealth Games bronze-medallist Amandeep Singh and former Asian Games silver winner Thokchom Nanao Singh.

In the fly-weight 52kg division, Santosh Harijan will try to make a mark, while the more established Commonwealth Games gold-medallist Suranjoy Singh trains for the World Millitary Games later this month.

A 19-year-old Neeraj Goyat will be aiming to fetch a medal in the light weight 60kg category, which Jai Bhagwan has made his own after striking gold at the Commonwealth Championships.

Jasveer Singh (81kg) has been a longtime rival of Asian Games silver medallist Dinesh Kumar at the national level but rarely gets a chance in the international arena.

"Agreed these are not the established but they are second to none in talent and they will surely do well in Indonesia," said Hooda.

The squad: Gaurav Bidhuri (49kg), Santosh Harijan (52kg), Chhote Lal Yadav (56kg), Neeraj Goyat (60kg), V Santosh Kumar (64kg), Lakhbir Singh (69kg), Jasveer Singh (81kg).