"Sharad Yadav as party president has completed his three successive terms. He has now refused to make any amendment in the party constitution so as to elect him for the next coming term," party spokesperson KC Tyagi said in a statement today.
Yadav, one of the founder leaders of the party along with Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, has been at the helm since 2006 and was reelected for a third term in 2013 by amending the party's constitution which then allowed a maximum of two tenures.
There is a buzz in the party that Kumar himself may become the party chief as he seeks to expand its footprints beyond Bihar with a merger with Ajit Singh-led RLD and former Jharkhand chief minister Babulal Marandi-led Jharkhand Vikas Morcha.

Latest News  from Bihar News Desk