According to reports, Nawaz Sharif is personally keen to attend the swearing-in ceremony but he wants to go through a process of consultation.
Other key SAARC leaders, Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai, Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, Nepal Prime Minister Sushil Koirala and Maldivian President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom have confirmed that they will attend the ceremony at the forecourt of the historic Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.
Bangladesh will be represented by Speaker Shirin Chaudhury as Premier Sheikh Hasina is travelling to Japan.
Decision on Sharif attending Modi's swearing-in ceremony is likely to be taken on Friday morning, say Pakistan Foreign Ministry sources.
Pakistan's ambivalence on the invitation to Sharif is seen by observers in New Delhi as a manifestation of the tussle between the elected government and the all-powerful Army establishment in Islamabad. The establishment may not want Sharif to travel to New Delhi.
Mauritius Prime Minister Navin Ramgoolam will also be attending the swearing-in ceremony of Modi.
Immediately after BJP's landslide victory, world leaders including US President Barack Obama and Russian President Vladimir Putin called Modi to congratulate him. Modi through his Twitter handle thanked the leaders for their wishes.

Modi will be administered the oath as 15th Prime Minister of the country by President Pranab Mukherjee at a ceremony to be attended by over 3,000 guests.
BJP had a landslide victory in the just-concluded polls in India to elect members of the 16th Lok Sabha and crossed the majority mark of 272 in the 543-member House on its own for the first time in its history.

In New Delhi, the Ministry of External Affairs spokesperson said protocol arrangements for foreign dignitaries at the swearing-in ceremony of Modi will be overseen by a senior and seasoned diplomat.




Latest News from India News Desk