Lucknow: Outgoing UP Chief Minister Mayawati was confident of her victory in the state assembly elections as she had a team of her most trusted lieutenants and party workers who are credited for her historic victory in the last elections in 2007.

Moreover, intelligence sources had also reassured her about BSP’s victory in 2012 assembly polls. Despite such favourable factors, her party’s defeat at the hands of arch rival Samajwadi Party has left Mayawati shattered and she is yet to sink in the fact that her party has been ousted from power in the state.

It is also believed that outgoing CM’s most trusted associate Naseemuddin Siddiqui had assured her that over 50 percent of Muslim votes would go to the BSP. Even Satish Chandra Mishra, by citing the crowd which turned up in his rallies, had claimed that Brahmins had no options but to vote for the ruling party. Be it party coordinator Jugul Kishore or Munkand Ali, everyone had confirmed that BSP was sure to retain power in the state.

Intelligence sources had confirmed the Chief Minister that her party’s tally after the elections would be between 185 and 210. Even outgoing state Cabinet Secretary Shashank Shekhar Singh had also assured the Chief Minister of her victory.

Normally, a Chief Minister is seen accepting people’s mandate after his or her party’s defeat. But, Mayawati is the first Chief Minister who is apparently not ready to accept the decision of the people. Rather she is not missing even a single chance to slam her arch rival Mulayam Singh Yadav and the Samajwadi Party. Even after the clear mandate in favour of SP, Mayawati has said that people will soon realize the difference between outgoing BSP regime and incoming SP regime.  

She has also claimed that 70 percent of Muslim voters didn’t cast their votes in this election. Moreover, she is pointing out at the vote shares of BSP and SP and saying that the difference is slender. But she is not ready to concede to the fact that only this difference has ousted her from the corridors of power in the state.

(JPN/ Bureau)