The Congress sources said Sheila Dikshit has informed the party high command that she has no interest in contesting assembly polls from the New Delhi assembly constituency. Neither will she nor her relatives fight elections from the key seat.

However, she made it clear that if the party high command asks her to campaign for, she will canvass for the party candidates.

The first list of party candidates may include Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee chief Arvinder Singh Lovely and Legislator Party Leader Harun Yushuf among all the eight candidates who won the last assembly polls.

Besides, the party is likely to repose faith in all the candidates who were runner up in the last assembly polls. The first list may feature many senior leaders including former minister Dr Ashok Walia, Subhash Chopra, Mukesh Sharma.

Former West Delhi MP Mahabal Mishra is keen to contest from Dwarka assembly seat, while the party is in favour of fielding either former Union Minister Krishna Tirath or her daughter from Patel Nagar constituency.

Congress general secretary and Delhi in-charge PC Chako announced to release the first list of party candidates before December 25. Chako informed that Delhi Election Committee meeting would be convened on Tuesday to discuss the names of party candidates.

Chako said that the list would be given final touches by December 20, adding that Congress president Sonia Gandhi-led Central Election Committee will give final nod on it.

Meanwhile, several leaders including Captain Ajay Yadav belonging to Haryana, Rajasthan have been made party observers for Delhi assembly polls.

Delhi assembly has been in suspended animation since February. Then chief minister Arvind Kejriwal resigned after failing to pass Delhi Jan Lok Pal Bill in the assembly.

Latest News from State News Desk