Despite the fact that it had no require number to send two members in the upper house in state assembly, the Shiv Sena fielded Navrekar as second candidate in the biennial Legislative Council elections banking on the BJP votes. But the BJP has ensured victory of two of its candidates by seeking Mahrashtra Navnirman Sena’s (MNS) help. Realizing that his ship is making a directionless move, Navrekar withdrew his candidature without informing Uddhav Thackeray.

During Holi, Navrekar met senior NCP leader and Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar who announced the former as party’s candidate from Mawal Lok Sabha constituency. Navrekar’s father-in-law Ramraje Naik Nimbalkar has been an NCP minister.

Gajanjan Babar, who was elected from Mawal constituency, and Parbhani MP Ganesh Dughgaonkar have already deserted Shiv Sena. Kalyan MP Anand Paranjpe also said good bye to Shiv Sena after winning the Lok Sabha elections. It needs to be mentioned here that Kalyan was once a stronghold of Shiv Sena.

Just a few days back, Shirdi MP Bhausahab Waghchaure also ditched Shiv Sena and joined Congress. Abhijit Panse, who was with Aditya Thackeray-led youth wing of Shiv Sena also left the party and joined MNS.

Upset over Uddhav Thackeray’s way of dealing with the scheme of things, four-time Shiv Sena Mohan Rawle also left the party and joined Congress. Ex-chief minister of Maharashtra Manohar Joshi also questioned Uddhav’s leadership credentials in open.

Uddhav must be feeling the heat generated by this chaos and confusion before elections. It might be mainly due to this very reason, he tied ‘Shiv Sena’ bracelets on every party members during the birth anniversary of party founder Balasaheb Thackeray on 23rd January and made them take a vow of never dumping the party. In spite of all such efforts, very few leaders are caring about the vow or ‘Shiv-bandhan’.

According to Ajit Pawar, more leaders from Shiv Sena camp are likely to join NCP and if their names are made public, it might give sleepless nights to Uddhav Thackeray.


Latest News from State News Desk