The committee, formed upon Prime Minister Narendra Modi's intervention in the growing issue related to the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC), has been constituted for "holistic interpretation" of the provisions of the Cinematograph Act/Rules, an official statement said.

The decision is in sync with Modi's vision that a milieu should be ensured wherein "artistic creativity and freedom do not get stifled or curtailed and the people tasked with the work of certification understand these nuances".

"The recommendations of this committee are expected to provide a holistic framework and enable those tasked with the work of certification of films to discharge their responsibilities keeping in view this framework," the statement added.

Benegal is a Dadasaheb Phalke Award winner, and is credited with films like "Ankur" (1973), "Nishant" (1975), "Manthan" (1976) and "Bhumika" (1977).The other members of the committee include filmmaker Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra, ad guru Piyush Pandey, veteran film journalist Bhawana Somaaya , National Film Development Corporation managing director Nina Lath Gupta, and the joint secretary (Films) in the information and broadcasting ministry as the Member Convenor. The committee has been asked to submit its recommendations within two months.



Latest News from India News Desk