Bangalore: Siddaramaiah, who led the Congress' battle against BJP government's corruption in Karnataka, will take oath as the 22nd Chief Minister of the state on Monday.

Siddaramaiah, 64, will be sworn in alone by Governor HR Bhardwaj at a ceremony at Sri Kanteerava Stadium.

Siddaramaiah was elected as the leader of Congress Legislative Party in the state assembly on May 10 to lead government in the state after the party’s phenomenal victory in assembly polls. Four AICC observers led by Defence Minister AK Antony had met newly elected party legislators to take a final call in this regard. After taking the consent of AICC Chief Sonia Gandhi and party Vice President Rahul Gandhi, Antony had announced the election of Siddaramaiah.

Congress storms back to power in Karnataka

Congress put up an impressive show in Karnataka elections by bagging 121 seats, eight more than the half-way mark in a House of 224 members. The Congress returned to power on its own after a gap of nine years.

A lawyer-turned politician, Siddaramaiah (then he was in Janata Dal) had narrowly missed the Chief Minister's "gaddi" in 1996 after the incumbent HD Deve Gowda went on to become Prime Minister. Siddaramaiah, who hails from Kuruba community, the third largest in the state, was then pipped by JH Patel. Both under Deve Gowda and Patel, he served as Finance Minister.

With the Karnataka Assembly having strength of 224 members, the council of ministers can have a maximum of 34 members, including the Chief Minister.

Election to the state's 14th legislative assembly was held in 223 constituencies across the state on May 5 and counting was completed on May 8. Polling for one assembly seat - Periyapatna in Mysore district - was postponed to May 28 following the death of the BJP candidate on April 29. The outgoing ruling party, the BJP, secured 40 seats, as did the Janata Dal-Secular JD (S). Of the remaining 22 seats, newly-floated regional outfits the Karnataka Janata Party (KJP) and BSR (Badavara Shramika Raithara) bagged six and four, respectively. Twelve independents were also elected.


Latest News from India News Desk