It was the second national title for World Championship bronze medallist Sindhu after she registered a straight-game victory over Rituparna Das in the women's singles summit clash which lasted for half an hour.

However, it was a maiden title for Thailand Open Grand Prix Gold winner Srikanth, who dug deep into his reserves to get the better off RMV Gurusaidutt in a 40-minute men's singles contest.

While second seed Sindhu, who is currently ranked 11th in the world, defeated Rituparna 21-11 21-17, Srikanth beat Guru 21-13 22-20 at the Siri Fort Sports Complex.

Defending mixed doubles champions Aparna Balan and Arun Vishnu retained their title, while Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa regained the women's doubles crown for the first time since 2009.

In the men's doubles competition, top seeds Pranaav Jerry Chopra and Akshay Dewalkar clinched the title with a 21-19 21-17 win over second seeds Manu Attri and Sumeeth Reddy B in a 39-minute contest.

Second seeds Arun and Aparna defeated top seeds Tarun Kona and Ashwini Ponnappa 21-10 21-17    within half an hour, while second seeded pair of Jwala and Ashwini prevailed over top seeds Pradnya Gadre and Siki Reddy N 21-17 21-16     in a 34-minute match.


Latest News from Sports News Desk