Chandigarh:  Six Congress legislators from Punjab have been served notice for breach of privilege in Punjab Legislative Assembly during the budget session.

Speaker Nirmal Singh Kahlon on Monday confirmed that the six MLAs had been served notice for protesting against the treasury benches by climbing on the table kept in front of the Speaker’s chair.

The list of legislators who were served the notice includes Makhan Singh Ripjit Singh Brar, Sukhpal Singh Khaira, ‎ Gurpreet Singh Kangar, Surinder Singh Sibya and Balbir Singh Sidhu.

Meanwhile, the resignation of Gidderbaha MLA and former Akali leader Manpreet Badal has been accepted by the Speaker.

The Speaker informed that other MLAs who joined Manpreet’s party had also been served notice in that regard.