Chapra: Six candidates are left in the fray for Maharajganj Lok Sabha by-polls, which is all set to see a triangular contest in the elections.

After the final day of withdrawal, a total of six nominees are left in the fray for the June 2 by-polls, District Magistrate-cum election officer Abhijit Sinha said.

The six candidates are PK Shahi of JD (U), Prabhunath Singh (RJD), Jitendra Swami (Congress), Balendu Kumar Rai (Bhartiya Ekta Dal) and two Independents-- Om Prakash Singh and Vikash Kumar Singh, he said.

The election, which has been necessitated due to the death of RJD's Uma Shankar Singh, is all set to see a contest between the JD (U), RJD and Congress nominees.

The DM said that in order to ensure peaceful by-elections, security forces would be deployed in large numbers at all 1,476 booths. Saran Superintendent of Police Sujit Kumar said a request has been sent for 70 companies of CRPF.


Latest News from Bihar News Desk