Kokata: Six members have been declared as elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha (RS) from West Bengal.

After the stipulated time for the withdrawal of nomination papers ended on Friday afternoon, the Secretary of State Assembly, Yadav Lal Chakraborty declared Derek O’Brien, Debabrata Bandyopadhyay, Sukhendu Sekhar Roy, Srinjoy Bose from the Trinamool Congress (TMC), Pradip Bhattacharya form the Congress and CPI (M) politburo member Sitaram Yechuri as elected unopposed to the Upper House.

Assembly Secretary distributed the certificate to 5 members except Yechuri, who is on the foreign visit.

Several leaders including CPI (M) leader Anisur Rahman, the Chief Whip of the TMC in the Assembly Shobhan Chatterjee and Devrat Basu of the Congress were present on the occasion.

It is worth mentioning that Pradip Bhattacharya of the Congress had filed his nomination on the last date of nomination on Tuesday.

Only six candidates filed their nomination for six seats of the Upper House. The tenure of six RS members from WB will end on 18 August.