Making a suo motu statement in the assembly, she said a subsidy of Rs 16.82 crore had already been sanctioned for 60 of the 64 heritage towns in the state.

The heritage towns of Tiruparankundram, Thiruvattaru, Suseendram and Kodumudi will also be given Rs one crore each, she said.

Srirangam, Kancheepuram, Mamallapuram, Chidambaram, Rameswaram, Vaalinokkam, Srivilliputhur, Thanjavur, Kumbakonam, Madurai, Palani, Tiruchendhur, Tiruttani and Kanyakumari are among the 64 heritage towns in Tamil Nadu.

Jayalalithaa announced a housing layout comprising 1360 plots on 68.82 acres at Navarpattu in Tiruchirappalli district for economically backward, middle income and high income categories.


Latest News from State News Desk