Bhagalpur: A local court on Thursday awarded three years imprisonment to six policemen in a case of assault of an additional district judge and vandalizing the court in 1997.
Fast Track court judge SN Singh also announced Rs 1,000 penalty on each of the six policemen.
Those given punishment included present Officer In-charge of Kotwali police station K D Chaudhary.
Angry over the court issuing a non-bailable arrest warrant against a policeman for not presenting himself before the court in a murder case on November 29, 1997, the policemen had attacked ADJ D N Barai and vandalised the court premises.
However, when the policemen filed an application in the same court saying they want to go for appeal in the Patna High Court in the case, the court gave them bail.


Latest News  from Bihar News Desk