"Six persons have filed their nomination today," Principal Secretary of the Legislative Assembly and returning officer Pradeep Kumar Dubey said.
Among those who filed their nominations include Ram Gopal Yadav, Tazeen Fatima, Neeraj Shekhar, who is son of former Prime Minister Chandrashekhar, Ravi Prakash Verma, Javed Ali Khan and Chandrapal Singh Yadav.
The candidates filed their nominations in the presence of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav and other senior ministers of the government.
At present ruling SP has a strength of 231 out of 403 in the Legislative Assembly.
Meanwhile, after filing nomination Ram Gopal said that after Congress and BJP, SP would be the largest party in Rajya Sabha.

Latest News from State News Desk