Lucknow: Six Samajwadi Party MLAs on Friday joined ruling BSP ahead of Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh.

SP MLAs Ashok Singh Chandel (Hamirpur), Sarvesh Singh Seepu (Azamgarh), Sandeep Agarwal (Moradabad), Surendra Singh Lod (Unnao), Suraj Singh Shakya (Etah) and Sultan Beg (Bareilly) joined BSP in presence of state party president Swami Prasad Maurya and other senior leaders at central hall of Vidhan Bhawan.

Maurya said more SP MLAs are likely to join the party.

Of the six SP MLAs, Sarvesh Singh Seepu, Ashok Chandel and Sandeep Agarwal were suspended by the Samajwadi Party in February last year when they joined Lok Manch, a party floated by Amar Singh after his expulsion from the Samajwadi Party.

However, they were not suspended from the primary membership of the party and are sitting SP MLAs.

Miffed over the denial of party ticket for the upcoming assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh, Samajwadi Party (SP) MLA Sandhya Katheria from Kisni seat in Mainpuri district joined the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). She blamed the SP supremo for promoting family members in politics.

“Expressing faith in the policies of BSP chief Mayawati, SP legislator from Kisni in Mainpuri Sandhya Katheria has joined the party,” BSP state president Swami Prasad Maurya said.

PWD Minister Nasimuddin Siddiqui, Lalji Verma, Ram Achal Rajbhar and Indrajit Saroj were also present on the occasion.

Katheria is two time MLA from Kisni assembly seat in Mainpuri. SP supremo represents the Mainpuri Lok Sabha constituency, therefore the move is being termed as a major setback for the party.