Kolkata: Despite being ousted from West Bengal by the Trinamool Congress after 34 years of its regime, unity among the Left Front allies still remains intact.

No major political bickering has been reported since the Left Front’s formation in 1977. Since then, the Left Front has been successful in portraying an image of unity.

Under the changed scenario, the Left Front despite sitting in the Opposition has pitched in a consolidated effort to slam the policies and failure of Mamata Banerjee led government.

Earlier, the Forward Block had expressed its reservation over the previous LF government’s controversial decision to acquire land in Singur.

All the allies except, Communist Party of India (Marxist) had raised voice over 14 people killed in a police firing in Nandigram.

Forward Block, Communist Party of India (CPI) and Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) had made it clear that they were not responsible for police firing in Nandigram.

They also disagreed with CPI (M) over issues like allowing Multinational Companies into the state, and land acquisition for Special Economic Zone (SEZ). 

The LF consisted of six alliance partners when the front had come to power in 1977. Later three parties had also joined the front. Now the LF comprises nine political parties.

The West Bengal Socialist Party has merged with the Samajwadi Party. The Socialist Party and the CPI had joined the front in 1977 and 1982 respectively.

Out of the nine allies, only CPI (M), CPI, FB and RSP are politically active and have national identity.