Lucknow: Implementing the famous social engineering, Uttar Pradesh CM Mayawati on Tuesday made a major reshuffling in the top administration including chief secretary in the wake of forthcoming Assembly election.

Appointment of Anup Mishra as chief secretary is being seen as a part of the state government’s social engineering, which is billed to be a great setback for Desh Deepak Verma.

According to sources, DG, Jail Administration and Home Secretary, Kamlesh Kumar has been made Principal Secretary Home Guard Department.

PWD Secretary, JB Sinha will hold additional charge of Secretary Environment Department, Principal Secretary CM, Commercial Tax, Entertainment Tax Civil Aviation Department and DG Civil Aviation Lucknow; while Durga Shankar Mishra, who has been relieved from the additional charge of Commercial Tax and Entertainment Tax, has been given additional charge of urban development.

Similarly Secretary, CM and Commissioner, Commercial Tax Chandrabhanu has been given additional charge of Commercial Tax and Entertainment Tax and Vrinda Swarup Principal Secretary Technology Education and Labor Department has been assigned with Principal Secretary, Finance Department.

Besides, Principal Secretary Vocational Education Department, Shailesh Krishan has been entrusted with the additional charge of Principal Secretary, Labour and Sanjay Prasad, Member, Judicial Revenue Board will now oversee Technology Education as Secretary

VN Garg, Principal Secretary, Infrastructure and Industrial Development will also hold additional charge of Commissioner in the same department; while Sugarcane Commissioner, Kamran Rizvi has been promoted to Secretary, Industrial Development.

Santosh Kumar Yadav, Chairman PACT and Director, Trainning and Employment was given additional charge of Cane Commissioner but relieved of the Director, Trainning and Employment Department.

Judicial Revenue Board Allahabad Member, Anil Kumar (II) has been made Director, Training and Employment, whereas Commissioner and Secretary, Revenue Board (UP) Sanjeev Dube now will hold the post of Secretary, Industrial Development.

L Venkateshwar Loo, Commissioner Moradabad has been made Commissioner and Secretary Revenue Board Lucknow and Principal Secretary, National Integration Department will hold the post of Commissioner of Moradabad.

Desh Deepak Verma, a 1978 batch IAS officer received a setback following the reshuffle.

JPN/ Bureau