This was the first Independence Day celebration in the party after the massive defeat of Congress in 2014 Lok Sabha polls, which saw the party's tally plummeting to 44 from 206 in 2009.
The Congress-led UPA was in power at the Centre for ten years since 2004.
The ceremony was attended by former prime minister Manmohan Singh, party vice president Rahul Gandhi and other senior leaders including AK Antony, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ahmed Patel, Janardan Dwivedi and Shakeel Ahmed.
Former finance minister P Chidambaram, AICC general secretary Ambika Soni, AICC Communication Department chief Ajay Maken were not present.
However, party leaders said that while Maken is out of Delhi, Soni was not well.
After the flag hoisting, Sonia and Rahul wished the journalists gathered there but did not take any question.

They were asked about Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Independence Day speech.

Latest News from India News Desk