Besides Sonia Gandhi, Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi too will be present at the oath taking ceremony on November 20. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav will be there along with Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and his Assam counterpart Tarun Gagoi.

Former Prime Minister Deve Gowda as well as former Jharkhand Chief Ministers Babulal Marandi and Hemant Soren and Indian National Lok Dal leader Abhay Chauthala have been invited to attend the oath taking ceremony.

"We have decided to invite all leaders opposed to BJP to attend the oath-taking ceremony of Nitish Kumar," JD-U spokesperson Ajay Alok said today. RJD chief Lalu Prasad and JD-U president Sharad Yadav will be the main guests at the function.

JD-U general secretary KC Tayagi said that all the big leaders opposed to the Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) brand of politics will come-together to express their show of unity during the oath taking ceremony.

"It will be a new beginning of opposition unity in the country," he said. Nitish Kumar yesterday said he will recommend dissolution of the state legislative assembly on November 14 after holding the last meeting of his cabinet. He will stake claim to form his new government after a joint meeting of Grand Alliance on the same day.

According to JD-U leaders here, Nitish Kumar will again take oath as Chief Minister along with a 36-member council of ministers after the Chhath festival to be celebrated in the third week of November.

Latest News from India News Desk