A ground-to-air security cover on par with the Republic Day parade will be put in place for Modi's oath taking ceremony as India's 15th Prime Minister. The event will be attended by top leaders of neighbouring countries, including Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, and around 3,000 other select guests.

Modi has invited all the leaders of member states of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) for the event.

The leaders, who have sent their confirmations to attend the ceremony, are Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai, Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, Nepal Prime Minister Sushil Koirala and Maldivian President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom. Bangladesh will be represented by Speaker Shirin Chaudhury.

Modi stormed to power at the Centre giving BJP its highest ever tally in the Lok Sabha elections. The saffron party bagged 282 seats in the Lower House. This was also the first time any party got a clear majority in last three decades.

The Congress witnessed its worst defeat since the first general elections in 1951-52. Their current tally of 44 is far lower than their previous worst of 114 in 1999.


Latest News from India News Desk