New Delhi: In a bid to ensure the ensure passenger safety on train routes traversing through the Naxal-affected regions, the South Eastern Railways has decided to regulate the movement of trains during the night.

The railway authorities have decided not to run trains between 10 pm-5 am on Kharagpur-Tata, Chakradharpur-Rourkela and Kharagpur-Adra sections from July 29 till June 2.

The change would affect the schedule of half a dozen trains from New Delhi.  As per the new schedule, the Puri-Hariswar-Utkal Express after reaching Jharsuguda station will move via Jhasugada-Sambhalpur-Katak route.

Likewise many trains have been diverted or made to run along alternative routes.

Orissa Sampark Kranti Express would depart from Bhubaneshwar at 10 pm instead of 3.40 pm from July 31 to August 4.

Both up and down Puri Express would reach Gomo station by around 12.50 am and would depart only in the morning.

Though Purushottam Express would run on its scheduled route but it would halt at Tatanagar station till 4.50 am.