Lucknow: With sights set on the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the Samajwadi Party (SP) on Tuesday announced new office bearers for its Uttarakhand unit, party sources said.

SP Chief Mulayam Singh Yadav has appointed Satya Narayan Sachan as the state unit president while Rajendra Kumar Badi, Rekha Yadav, Suresh Parihar and Durga Verma have been appointed vice presidents of the state unit.

Mulayam Singh Yadav has also appointed Abdul Mateen Siddiqui as general secretary and H.P. Yadav as treasurer of the state unit, a party spokesman said.

Besides, 14 state secretaries and nine members to the state executive have also been appointed. Durgesh Pratap Singh has been named the state spokesman. Yadav has already directed the partymen to begin preparations for the Lok Sabha polls and the names of its candidates from Uttar Pradesh are likely to be announced shortly.

The party has decided to re-nominate all its sitting MPs, except Rampur MP Jaya Prada. The cine actress-turned-politician had parted ways with the SP after Amar Singh was thrown out from the party.


Latest News from Uttar Pradesh News desk