BSP has decided candidates on four seats in Uttarakhand while the SP has already named three candidates and is planning to change its two pre-decided candidates from Tehri and Haridwar constituencies.

For now, both the parties are busy chalking out their future strategy for the upcoming elections in the Himalayan state.

Uttarakhand goes to polls on May 7 and the counting will be done on May 16.

As all the parties are going all-out to win more and more seats from Uttarakhand, BSP and SP are hopeful of putting up a good performance in the state. Both the parties had started planning for the LS polls in Uttarakhand well in advance from the last two to three months.

With an eye on all the five seats, SP and BSP are focusing more on Nainital and Haridwar constituencies of Uttarakhand.

Corruption, Dalit voters’ rights, terrorism, unemployment and migration of the people from the mountain state are the major poll issues on which both of the parties are stressing hard during their campaigns.

BSP state president Dr Meghraj Singh Jaraware said whatever important decisions pertaining to the welfare of the scheduled castes and scheduled tribes the Congress government in the state has taken so far is due to its presence in the current regime.

BSP chief Mayawati along with 40 other top leaders will descend on Uttarakhand as star campaigners during the polls.

Mayawati will be participating in around two to three rallies in the state. Apart from her, other prominent BSP leaders like Satish Chandra Mishra, Ram Achal Rajbhar and Nasimuddin Siddiqui will also be holding rallies in the state prior to the election date.

SP state president Dr Satyanarayan Sachan said all the responsibilities in every district of the state had already been distributed by the district heads.

SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav along with Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, UP Cabinet Minister Azam Khan, Kiranmoy Nanda and various other senior SP leaders will campaign for the party in Uttarakhand.


Latest News from State News Desk