New Delhi: After gaining a thumping victory in Uttar Pradesh assembly elections-the triumphant Samajwadi Party (SP) has finalised the names of its party candidates to be sent to the Rajya Sabha. The former BSP leader Naresh Agarwal who joined SP this year has also been included in the list. It is expected that the Rajya Sabha candidates will file their nomination on Friday.
Some other names in the race for nominations are Kiranmay Nanda chief of West Bengal party unit, SP vice president Brij Bhushan Tiwari, party's student wing leader Arvind Singh and Munawar Saleem from Madhya Pradesh unit. Azam Khan has been lobbying for Saleem's representation in the Rajya Sabha.

It needs to be mentioned that after a massive victory in Uttar Pradesh, the SP has an opportunity to send six party members to the Rajya Sabha.  However, it can send only one candidate from the Yadav or Muslim community to the Rajya Sabha.

Meanwhile, the resignation tendered by Naresh Agarwal has been accepted by the RS Chairman Mohammed Hamid Ansari. Agarwal had represented BSP in Upper House. He became the RS member after winning the by-poll in 2010. His tenure will end on April 2. Meanwhile, the biennial elections for ten vacant seats from UP is scheduled to take place by the end of March.