The Samajwadi Party nominee Lal Ji Yadav once again will lock horns with Bharatiya Janata Party stalwart Jai Pratap Singh from Bansi Assembly seat.

In a stunning victory, Lal Ji defeated five-time MLA Jai Pratap Singh of BJP in 2007. Both Lal Ji and Jai Pratap have been the arch rivals in the constituency. It would be interesting to see that if Lal Ji can retain the Bansi seat or not.

The Bahujan Samaj Party’s decision to field Vinay Shankar Tiwari from Bansi seat changed the battle triangular. Tiwari, the son of mafia turn politician Hari Shankar Tiwari has influence in the region.

In the 2009 General Elections, Vinay Shankar unsuccessfully fought against Yogi Adityanath on Gorakhpur seat. However the Congress fielded Ishwar Chandra Shukla from the seat. Independent candidate Kishan Nishad is also in the fray.